Dear Ireland,

 I know I have cursed you lately for your incessant, torrential, sideways rain, daily gailforce winds, inefficient and backward banking system and general not-South-America-ness, but I would like to take it all back. Your man pointed out to me this morning that in fact, Ireland, you saved my life, so I’d just like to thank you for that.

 Love, Laura Hetty Price, aged 29 years, 10 months and 26 days

I have safely arrived in Blighty after a crack-of-dawn flight to Manchester, during which I even managed to bump into a colleague from Facebook Dublin – incredibly small (albeit open and connected) world. I thought it better to fly Aer Lingus since I’m pretty sure Ryanair would have found a way to charge me for my tumour. (Bloombergers, take note: I have reverted back to UK spelling and grammar in a wild and uncontrollable fit of rebellion. Note that I am also using adjectives).

I happened to check my results from Argentina today for the first time in a while and I noticed that the item they then thought was a simple cyst apparently measured 12mm in diameter. It is now 26mm. I had no idea it had more than doubled in the space of 4 months – I can’t even tell it has grown.

A few girlfriends have said this blog has prompted them to check their breasts, but they aren’t really sure what they’re looking for. I stumbled upon my lump without specifically looking for it. It’s hard like a tennis ball and is just under the skin (you can’t see it from the outside) — I really couldn’t have missed it, so if you don’t find anything by having a feel around then you probably don’t have anything to worry about. Doctors don’t typically do mammograms on women under 35 but if you have any history of breast cancer in your close family or any reason to be concerned, there is absolutely no harm in seeing your GP. My lump showed up very clearly on the ultrasound, which is an entirely painless and harmless test.

Boys: did you know you can breast cancer too?

I’m overwhelmed and touched by all the beautiful cards and flowers I’ve received. Thank you to my BFFs Michelle and Lindsey and to the crew at Bloomberg News in London for these stunning bouquets!

I’ve received a lot of positive feedback about this blog and a few suggestions that my six-figure international book deal is imminent. I’m assuming my publishing mate Beth can set this up. In the mean time, I’m thinking of playing the Facebook-employee-gets-cancer card and asking the boss Mark Zuckerberg to promote the blog and propel me to global superstardom. We’re talking Carrie Bradshaw, only slightly less horsey looking. Whaddaya think?

Oh and if anyone thinks I’m handling this well, just to let you know, me and Mum are like a little set of sobbing dominoes. Nurse delivers bad news, I well up, Mum sheds tear, I cry, Mum sobs, etc. And then I get a few hilariously funny, LOL-ROFL-wet-my-pants emails and everything is ok again. So thanks guys for keeping me amused.

I’m heading out to the hospital now for my consultation. Wish me luck!