Dear Facebook HR peeps, Christie Clinic staff, insurance company lady and amazing friends and family,

Thank you from the bottom of my heart — You rock.

Love Laura xx

I got the results from my CAT scan back today and they were clear. This is fantastic news as it means the cancer hasn’t spread to my organs.

So the operation is going ahead at 11am on Saturday and I need to fast for 6 hours beforehand (which means no food after 5am, and I don’t really want to get up at 4:30am twice in one week). A 6-hour fast to most people won’t seem like much, but then most people don’t think about food every waking moment of their life like I do. It reminds me of the time I tried to do a detox and all I could think about was food so I ate everything healthy in sight before getting a migraine and puking at a friend’s house. I vowed never to give up sugar or tea again.

My Dad for some reason today finally read the Fortune magazine article (March 19, 2012) that I had given him about Facebook before I began at the company in April, and he asked if I had taken the Clifton StrengthsFinder test that the article mentions all Facebook employees take. I said yes and listed the 4 of my 5 strengths I could remember.

“Is eating not one of them?” he said.

“She’s quite good at making cups of tea as well,” Mum chipped in.

It’s good to know they appreciate my talents.

 

In the doctor’s referral letter, I noticed they had crossed out the ‘right’ breast and scribbled ‘left’ above it. Ever so slightly alarming. Hopefully they will operate on the correct boob tomorrow and not make a right boob of it. See what I did there?

 

 

In other news, Oops the Llama found his way into my suitcase again and he’s ready to hit the road.