It’s been a week and a day since chemo round one and I am feeling so much better. This is evidenced in the fact that I am now drinking tea and eating sweet foods again and have started to read a book and reply to emails.

My friend Lindsey wrote me a beautiful card, in which she listed all the good things that have so far come out of me having cancer, in the spirit of always looking on the bright side of the Big ‘C’. So, although last week was truly one of the worst weeks of my life and is to be repeated at least five times over the next few months, there are a few silver linings to the cloud (and boy is it cloudy out there right now).

In the spirit of all things positive, here is my own adapted list, combined with Lindsey’s. Feel free to add your own!

10 Things I Like About Cancer

1. I found the tumour quickly enough to have it removed before it spread any further and have been lucky enough to be treated by some of the best doctors around.

2. I still have good boobs. And one of them has a baby-shark bite war wound that I now get to show off at parties and feel all special.

3. I dared to cut my hair into a style I never would have done otherwise and it doesn’t look too bad. It also doubles up as a Jedward haircut when un-gelled, and occasionally takes on its own Something About Mary-like style after a night’s sleep. (See left for what I woke up to this morning).

4. I have seen or been in touch with certain friends and family who I hadn’t seen for years and probably wouldn’t have seen for several more years otherwise. (Hello Ginger Chris, Nick and Emma, and all the other wonderful people who’ve messaged me out of the blue after years of little contact!)

5. I get to see my home girls (Helen, Michelle and Lindsey) regularly for the first time in 13 years, since we all went to school together.

6. I get to live at home with Mum and Dad for the first time in 13 years and be waited on hand and foot and treated like a princess for several months (and I am really milking it!)

7. I got to know the nicest postman in the whole of the land. And he has delivered dozens and dozens of amazing cards and presents (and wigs) from all of you.

8. I can sleep for as long as I like. Not since school summer holidays has sleeping been this simple.

 

 

9. People have said my writing is good. Nobody ever said this in 4 1/2 years as a journalist at Bloomberg.

 

 

10. The doctor says I’m allowed to eat whatever I want (but Mum still makes me eat brown bread and vegetables).

 

I expect you are all well jel now.