Oh dear.

I wasn’t allowed to have chemo today because my blood count was too low. That’s why I was all shaky and weak for the past few days, I guess. Funny, when I called the hospital hotline on Sunday, I did mention maybe my blood count was low, but I felt so much better yesterday that I figured I was fine. Either way, there’s nothing I could have done to increase it.

I have to go back in a week’s time and may have to be given a lower dose of chemo.

I have to admit, I’m a bit gutted. Mainly because it means I have to wait another week and return next Tuesday, meaning I won’t be able to go to the Paralympics, which I was really looking forward to. I have tickets for swimming on Monday and athletics on Tuesday and, after forfeiting some of my Olympics tickets because of this stupid cancer, I was really hoping the Paralympics would make up for it.

It feels a bit like when you’ve revised for an exam and then you get snowed in on the day and have to retake it three months later… It also changes all the dates of my future treatments and pushes me a step further back. Sadly, still just one down, five to go.

Still, there’s always a silver lining. I’ll hopefully be feeling shipshape this Saturday for my Mum’s birthday party, which we so nearly cancelled because of my illness, so that’s a relief. And secondly, it means I’ll be able to eat some of my Mum’s rhubarb crumble this evening and it won’t get wasted due to my loss of appetite for sweet foods. Everyone’s a winner!

In other good news, I did at least get my lunch at the hospital before my blood test results came back. I enjoyed a cup of tea, a glass of orange juice, a bowl of vegetable soup and some beans on toast before the computer said no. I had been sitting at the hospital for two hours watching Come Dine With Me to distract me from hearing everything about my fellow patient’s treatment by this point, though…

I then came home and found the cat (a.k.a Nurse Molly) basking in the sunshine on my bed, so committed to her role as carer that she had fallen asleep guarding my anti-sickness drugs. #lessthanidealstoragesolution