What wonderful, wise, creative friends I have!

This card came from Helen, who quite rightly points out that instead of waiting for the storm to pass in my current situation, I have been learning to dance in the rain. That, my friends, is all I can do. If there’s anything I’ve learnt in the last three months, it’s that you have to make the most of any given situation. I have learnt a great deal about acceptance. I have come to terms with the pure and simple fact that the future is uncertain and will always be so. You can only plan so much.

On a more literal level, learning to dance in the rain sounds like fun, as is pretty much every physical activity when done in a downpour. One of my most vivid memories of all time was jumping into a warm outdoor pool during a torrential rainstorm at a youth hostel in Brazil’s Iguaçu Falls in 2001. And, more recently, training for a marathon in Battersea Park, London, in the pouring rain and returning home to my house in Clapham soaked through to the skin was quite possibly one of the most exhilarating things ever. I hereby declare that we should all get out and dance in the rain more often.

In the spirit of moving on and making the best of it, I ventured into town today for my first proper outing since last week’s chemo and wore my redhead, Brandi. As you can see, she is a pretty subtle red (burgundy, to be precise) and I’m glad I took your advice and bought her. I’ll definitely wear her out frequently with my redheaded friends. However, I did get a terrible headache and had to take her off as soon as we got back to the car. On arrival back at the house, we found the local window cleaner busy up his ladder. I think he may have got a little bit of a fright when I emerged from the car, bald-headed and carrying my hair in my hand, but fortunately he didn’t fall from a height. Brandi may aim to stop traffic, but she doesn’t want to be responsible for any deaths.

While Helen was busy finding wisdom-conveying greetings cards, Beth was hard at work making the world’s best chilli jam. I sampled lashings of said condiment with copious amounts of cheese on biscuits last night and I have to say, I think Beth could probably give up the geeky day job and go into jams and preserves without so much as a backward glance.

Finally, I’ve implemented a self-reward system to help me get through the daily nurse visits. Not that I ever hold back on eating whatever I want anyway, but I’m allowing myself a nice afternoon treat once the injection is done, and I’ve just polished off a nice bag of Kettle Chips. I figure if my mind is going to associate certain sights, smells and flavours with nasty experiences, I can surely turn it around and use the tried-and-tested dentist’s lollipop technique to get me to associate the nasty with the positive. So far it’s working.